RECOVER staff acknowledged for research excellence

4 Jul 2019

Congratulations to RECOVER staff who have recently had their valuable contributions to research recognised through industry awards and appointments. 


At the recent Speech Pathology Australia National ConferenceProfessor Deborah Theodoros was awarded the prestigious Lifetime Membership Award from Speech Pathology Australia for her contribution to the profession and Dr Louise Cahill was awarded a Forty Year Membership Award.

Professor Michele Sterling and colleagues from University of Southern Denmark were awarded ‘Best Clinical and Translation paper in the European Journal of Pain 2017-2018’ for their paper ‘Reciprocal associations of pain and post-traumatic stress symptoms after whiplash injury: A longitudinal, cross-lagged design’.

Dr Nicole Andrews and colleagues won the Queensland ‘Research and Development Project of the Year’ iAWARD. This award recognises outstanding digital research and development and was won by MNHHS, CSIRO and UQ. Nicole and her colleagues also received merit awards in the in the ‘Data Insights Innovation of the Year’ and the ‘Community Services’ categories.


Professor Deborah Theodoros has been appointed as the Flagship Research and Education Director for Rehabilitation for the Digital Health CRC. This is an in-kind position to facilitate research and educational activities in rehabilitation for the CRC. UQ is a partner in the CRC.

Dr Atiyeh Vaezipour has been appointed a UQ Young Science Ambassador. Atiyeh will work with the Wonder of Science team to promote a STEM culture in Queensland schools – where students understand the importance of STEM and believe that STEM education and careers are accessible to them. Read more about this appointment.